Shoe I Cidal

High Rez Snobbery

High Rez Snobbery 408 : Black Girl

HRS_MK_BLACKGIRL3

Today on August 20th, 2013 I had a skin designer make a very racist remark to me. It hurt me to my soul but pretty much confirmed what I already knew about sl. There are many many creators who do like black people or even want to speak to us as customers. Yet they feel its okay to accept our lindens and make skins designed towards us.

When I first discovered sl there were very few black skin designers. When I asked skin designers why they made so few black skins, designers told me it was too “hard” to make black skins. After a long search I found some amazing designers who did did start to make more black skins. Recently I have noticed that many designers who create specifically ethnic skins are being copybotted, harassed, called derogatory name, being extorted on sl. Its almost as if someone does not want people to make black skins.

Am I surprised? Absolutely Not! That is why I start the group Ethnic SL on flickr. Within that group, there are bloggers, designers, content creators, who make items for all of second life. Not just white sl can post their items. I was very specific in not including the designers over the years that have made racists comments.

Were they upset? Of course they were! Ethnic sl is good for money but when you are confronted with us as customers, designers etc, your racism shines through. Please Join Ethnic SL On Flickr, my sl is in color, yours should be too. Support designers, bloggers and customers who come in all races, creed, and color.

Skin : Meghindo’s “{Meghindo’s} ~ Shontelle ~ Released ~” *NEW*

Eyes : The Skinnery “[theSkinnery] Lovers eye collection (jade shown)”

Hairbase : Eskimo Fashion “[ef] – Malaysian 02 Lace Front Caps (Hairbase) – Black”

Hair : Iconic “ICONIC Chaka -Black Pack*”

Lipstick : Pink Acid “Pink Acid BDJ Lips – Black” Available at The Black Fair 2013 *NEW*

Shirt : Moda “=MODA= RITA RUFFLED TOP FATPACK” Available at The Black Fair 2013 *NEW*

4 comments on “High Rez Snobbery 408 : Black Girl

  1. Pussycat Catnap
    August 21, 2013

    Hey, I seriously feel your pain. Been there done that so many times…

    I’m going to have to join your flickr group, I’m already in a couple others for African avatars (RL me is Native American / Asian).

    I’ve got my own list of trusted skin makers to share as well.

    Jah bless.

  2. DrkAngelle
    August 21, 2013

    I have been around SL for many years and recall when ethnic skins were few and far between. Even as they did trickle into mainstream a bit more, we were still excluded when it came to being a target audience in advertisements for stores. We are avid consumers in SL (and RL too!) so our L’s do mean something. Thank you making a bold statement by not only voicing these indiscretions but also creating a Flickr page to say that Black truly is Beautiful!

  3. tieggerlilly
    September 2, 2013

    Reblogged this on whisperscloset.

  4. Beryl Landar
    October 5, 2013

    First off, this is a beautiful photo! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and creating your ethnic group. I am a biracial female and when I started SL, I wanted to create a black female avatar, just for fun, and because I wanted to do something I could never do, which is be black 🙂 I am white and hispanic, but I love black hair and skin so this is why I wanted to create a beautiful avatar as best as I could. I too had the same issues finding the same variety of hair and skin, at that time. Thank you for making it known and for creating a group for all colors to join and express themselves.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2013 by in Fashion.

Blog Stats

  • 173,752 hits
